The Physiology Section of AFS is soliciting nominations for the The Award of Excellence in Fish Physiology – this award recognizes outstanding contributions to the science of fish physiology. The Award of Excellence is the highest award of scientific recognition presented by the Section and should be reserved for people with outstanding career contributions to fish physiology.

Recipients to date have been:

  • 1994 – Bill Hoar and Dave Randall
  • 1996 – Howard Bern
  • 1998 – Tatsuko Hirano
  • 2000 – Dominic Houlihan
  • 2002 – Chris Wood
  • 2004 – Dal Val
  • 2006 – Pat Walsh and Tony Farrell
  • 2008 – Joe Cech
  • 2010 – Steve Perry
  • 2012 – Carl Schreck

Nomination Process: Any member of the Physiology Section of the American Fisheries Society may make a nomination. Nominations will consist of a description (less than 2 pages) of the nominees’ contributions to the field of Fish Physiology.

The Award: The award will be presented at the 11th International Congress on the Biology Fish banquet in Edinburgh, Scotland on Wednesday, 6 August 2014.

Deadline and contact information: The deadline for nominations to be received is March 1, 2014. Nominations or additional inquiries regarding the position can be sent via email to Mark Shrimpton at: